Youth and climate change ambassador awarded Young Citizen of the Year

Congratulations to our very own Ella Woodborne, who was awarded the Sunshine Coast Young Citizen of the Year at the Australia Day Awards today attended by more than 400 dignitaries, nominees and their guests.

Through her constant, unwavering effort, determination and kindness, Ella has become an inspirational role model to her entire school and beyond. Ella founded the Grammar Green Team, and is the primary spokesperson of this rapidly expanding school initiative.

The Grammar Green Team teaches others about the planet, its animals, plants, its strengths and weaknesses. Each day, Ella aims to educate others about world issues, conduct research and explore new ways to help the Earth become a healthier planet.

Ella is also a Youth Ambassador for EarthTech, a local start-up that focuses on encouraging and supporting young people to develop technologies that can be used to combat environmental issues such as climate change

Sunshine Coast Mayor Mark Jamieson said the annual Sunshine Coast Australia Day Awards had again highlighted the outstanding work of so many community-focussed Sunshine Coast citizens and organisations.

“Our nominees in the Australia Day Awards are a very special group of achievers and this is our chance to say thank you,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“Their stories highlight just how fortunate we are to have so many everyday heroes amongst us.

“All of our award recipients are truly deserving of these accolades.

“Their passion and dedication to helping those in need and our broader community is inspiring and they make a difference to so many lives.

“From creating sporting opportunities for all, improving our environment, championing the arts, caring for our animals and giving back to this wonderful community, these awards are a true reflection of our healthy, smart and creative community.”

2020 Sunshine Coast Australia Day Award Recipients

· Mark Forbes – Citizen of the Year
· Ella Woodborne – Young Citizen of the Year
· Mark Skinner – Senior Citizen of the Year
· Sunshine Coast Animal Refuge – Community Group or Organisation
· Jennifer Radbourne – Creative
· Ten Little Pieces – Environment and Sustainability
· Robert Angus / Brendan Powell and Scott Park (joint recipients) – Sport and Recreation